FullBoosts

MapleStory Classic Pets Guide: Pet Skills, Food and Closeness

MapleStory Classic World pets guide: all 12 pets, which six the Cash Shop sells, hunger rates, Pet Food, closeness levels, auto-potion setup.

MapleStory Classic Pets Guide: Pet Skills, Food and Closeness
In this guide 14 sections
THE GUIDE

Quick summary

  • 12 pets exist in Classic World, but Nexon's Founder's Access Cash Shop sells six: Brown Kitty, Black Kitty, Brown Puppy, Pink Bunny, White Bunny, and Black Pig. Each runs for 30 days at a time (Nexon notice; wiki).
  • Pets don't fight. They "deal no damage and take none" (wiki). Their value comes from four skills: Auto HP Potion, Auto MP Potion, Auto Move, and Expanded Auto Move.
  • Feed with Pet Food: +30 fullness each, sold at General Stores for 30–40 mesos in Beta 2 shop data (planet-helper). Feeding at 75 fullness or less adds +1 closeness, and feeding at 100 costs −1 (NiaMeowDB, original-game values).
  • Lowest upkeep: the two Kitties rarely get hungry. The Black Pig is "hungry all the time," but its closeness "goes up easily" (planet-helper, in-game text).
  • When the timer runs out, the pet turns into a doll. Water of Life adds 30 days, and Mar the Fairy in Ellinia revives a doll (Nexon notice; NiaMeowDB).

Checked against the Founder's Access build on October 13, 2026. Grand Launch is October 21, 2026; see the end of the guide for what may change.

Know what a pet actually does

The wiki says it plainly: pets "save you keystrokes." A pet with no skills follows you around and picks up only what it walks past (NiaMeowDB). Skills change that:

Skill Effect Source
Auto HP Potion Drinks your chosen HP potion below your threshold Wiki, Nexon notice
Auto MP Potion The same for MP Wiki, Nexon notice
Auto Move Pet walks to nearby drops and picks them up Wiki, Nexon notice
Expanded Auto Move "Triples" the range; requires Auto Move Nexon notice, wiki

Nexon lists every skill as permanent. They're also sold together in a once-per-account Pet Booster Essentials Pack that includes Premium Pet Food exchange coupons and is "untradable" (Nexon notice). planet-helper reports Nexon saying the Classic World shop has "nothing that directly raises stats or EXP." Pets fit that description: they're convenience, not power.

Pick a pet

Pet In the launch shop? Hunger (description) Hunger rate (NiaMeowDB, unconfirmed)
Brown Kitty Yes Rarely hungry 2
Black Kitty Yes Rarely hungry 2
Pink Bunny Yes Normal 2
White Bunny Yes Normal 2
Brown Puppy Yes Often hungry 3
Black Pig Yes Hungry all the time 5
Husky No Moderate 2
Mini Kargo No Very often 3
Panda No Not stated, "very rare" 4
Dino Boy No Not stated 4
Dino Girl No Not stated 4
Snail No Not stated 1

The "In the launch shop?" column comes from Nexon's notice. planet-helper had marked the six as "Unconfirmed until launch," and the notice names them. Beta 2 had sold the Brown Puppy, Panda, and Dino Boy (planet-helper), so the launch lineup is different from beta.

How to choose:

  • Busy grinders: pick a Kitty. It's the lowest hunger tier in both sources, so you'll feed it less often.
  • Closeness chasers: the Black Pig levels fastest by its own description, but you'll need to keep plenty of Pet Food on hand.
  • Command fans: Bunnies are "smart and obedient, but stubborn," and the Brown Puppy is "very obedient" (planet-helper, in-game text).

The wiki notes that temperament also "governs... how readily it obeys," but neither source puts numbers on obedience by pet.

Feed your pet correctly

NiaMeowDB's feeding rules (original-game values, unconfirmed in Classic):

Rule Value
Pet Food +30 fullness, max 100
Fed at 75 fullness or less +1 closeness
Fed at 100 fullness −1 closeness
Each hunger tick Fullness − hunger rate
Fullness 5 or less Pet goes home; fullness resets to 15
Multiple pets Pet Food feeds the hungriest pet first

Worked example: if a rate-5 Black Pig and a rate-2 Kitty start at 100 fullness, after 10 ticks the Pig is at 50 and the Kitty is at 80. Feeding the Pig then gives +1 closeness. Feeding the Kitty at 80 gives nothing extra, and feeding at 100 actually costs closeness. NiaMeowDB says it doesn't yet know "how often the hunger tick runs in Classic World," so we can't convert ticks into minutes.

Where to buy: General Stores in towns, plus Pet Food merchants in some towns. In Beta 2, eight shops sold it for 30–40 mesos (planet-helper). For a budget alongside your potions, see our potions guide.

Raise closeness with commands

Type <pet name> <command> (NiaMeowDB). Nexon's text for the Pet Name Tag says pets "will respond much better if their name is called prior to making a command."

Command Lv 1–9 Lv 10–19 Lv 20–29 Lv 30
sit 30% · +1 45% · +1 60% · +1 75% · +1
iloveyou 30% · +1 40% · +1 50% · +1 60% · +1
talk / chat / say — 50% · +2 65% · +2 80% · +2
cutie — 20% · +2 35% · +2 50% · +2
up / stand / rise — — 30% · +3 40% · +3
poop 30% · +1 30% · +1 30% · +1 30% · +1

NiaMeowDB adds that a pet "needs to stand still for a moment before it listens" and ignores commands while you're in combat stance (marked unconfirmed). Give commands in town, not mid-grind.

Plan your closeness levels

Pet level Closeness Pet level Closeness
5 14 20 5,542
10 287 25 14,084
15 1,642 30 30,000

What levels unlock: at level 10, the pet learns talk (+2) and cutie (+2). At level 20, it learns up (+3), and every command's obey chance improves (NiaMeowDB). Levels 1–10 come quickly (287 closeness). After level 20, the gaps are thousands of points, so most players will stop worrying about closeness once the +2 commands are available.

Set up auto-potions

  1. Apply Auto HP Potion Skill and/or Auto MP Potion Skill to the pet (wiki).
  2. Open the Equipment window → Deco tab, and put your chosen potion in the HP or MP slot at the bottom right (NiaMeowDB).
  3. Set the HP and MP warning in System Options. The pet drinks when your HP after a hit drops below warning setting × 5%. A setting of 0 turns it off.
Max HP Warning % Pet drinks below
1,200 30% 360 HP (NiaMeowDB example)
800 40% 320 HP
2,000 50% 1,000 HP

Rows 2–3 use NiaMeowDB's formula.

Details that matter: the pet drinks from the first matching Use slot. You get a warning when fewer than 31 potions are left and again when you run out. Potions go out at least 0.2 seconds apart (unconfirmed). One summoned pet with the skill covers you. A low-HP class like a Magician should set a higher threshold than a Warrior. See our potions guide for which potion to put in the slot.

Size the loot range

Setup Search box (NiaMeowDB)
No Auto Move Picks up what it walks past (25 px each side)
Auto Move 125 px each side, 50 px up, 10 px down
Expanded Auto Move 275 px each side

Pets follow ownership rules: they pick up free drops and drops that belong to you or your party, and they skip items that can't be picked up. A failed grab waits 3 seconds before retrying (NiaMeowDB; the retry is unconfirmed). NiaMeowDB hasn't confirmed whether the box is centered on you or on the pet. The vertical reach is short in every setup (50 px up), so on maps with several platforms you'll still need to walk to some drops. Auto Move is most useful on flat maps from our training guide.

Compare pet setups

Setup What you get Trade-off (sources)
No pet Manual potions and loot More keystrokes (wiki)
Pet with no skills Picks up what it walks past Little real benefit (NiaMeowDB)
Pet + Auto HP/MP Hands-free potions Must keep potions in the Deco slot
Pet + Auto Move + Expanded Wide loot pickup Limited vertical reach

Priority order for most players: Auto HP first, because a late potion can kill you. Then Auto Move for mesos, then Expanded Auto Move, then Auto MP if your class runs out of MP while grinding. Pick the order by playstyle; none of these are stat items (planet-helper quoting Nexon).

Dress and scroll pet equipment

The wiki lists ten pet hats and ribbons, all cash items with five upgrade slots each. Nexon's launch notice sells eight of them, all permanent: Red Ribbon, Yellow Hat, Red Hat, Black Hat, Pink Laced Cap, Sky Blue Laced Cap, Blue Top Hat, and Red Top Hat. Rudolph's Hat and Tree Hat aren't in the launch notice.

Scroll family Lesser Intermediate Greater Chaos
Pet Equip Speed +1 +2 +3 +4
Pet Equip Jump +1 +2 +3 +4

On paper that's up to +20 Speed or Jump, but the wiki warns the Chaos tier "can destroy it on failure." NiaMeowDB says your own Speed and Jump don't change your pet's movement (walk speed 125 px/s), so the hat stats are for you. For scroll odds and strategy, see our scrolling guide.

Keep your pet alive

  • Shop pets have a 30-day duration (Nexon notice).
  • Water of Life: "Use it on a living pet to extend its active time by 30 days, or bring it to Mar the fairy in Ellinia to restore a pet that has turned into a doll" (NiaMeowDB item page, launch text). NiaMeowDB notes the in-game text was rewritten in COT2 and dropped the explicit "30 days" wording.
  • Snail: lasts 5 hours, can't be revived, and comes with Auto HP and Auto MP built in (NiaMeowDB). The wiki agrees its "skills vanish once its magic runs out."

Plan for returning players and alts

  • Returning player: planet-helper notes that gear and hunting grounds match pre-Big Bang MapleStory. The wiki lists only these four pet skills, so don't plan around anything from later versions.
  • Gifting: the Cash Shop gift feature requires level 12 or higher (Nexon notice).
  • Packs: the Pet Booster Essentials Pack is once per account, and "both the package and its contents are untradable" (Nexon notice).
  • Mesos: feeding is a small, steady cost; see our mesos guide. For party runs where looting matters, see our KPQ guide.

Want a hand with this?

If you would rather skip the grind that goes with this, MapleStory Classic powerleveling services are listed on FullBoosts. Read Nexon's Terms of Service before you buy any service from anyone, FullBoosts included — a marketplace listing isn't publisher permission.

What may change at Grand Launch

This guide describes the Founder's Access build as it was on October 13, 2026. Re-check these against Nexon's Grand Launch notes on October 21: whether crafting still stops at craft level 8, whether Forgotten Hollow, Orbis and third jobs stay closed, KPQ channel limits, NPC shop stock, and any Founder's Access-only events or packages mentioned here. Nothing here assumes a closed area or feature will open.

FAQ

How many pets are in MapleStory Classic World? Twelve. Nexon's Founder's Access Cash Shop sells six: Brown Kitty, Black Kitty, Brown Puppy, Pink Bunny, White Bunny, and Black Pig (wiki, Nexon notice).

Which pet gets hungry the least? The Brown and Black Kitty, which "rarely" get hungry (planet-helper, in-game text; NiaMeowDB rate 2).

How much does Pet Food restore? 30 fullness, up to 100. In Beta 2 shop data, it cost 30–40 mesos at General Stores (planet-helper, NiaMeowDB).

How do I make my pet drink potions? Apply Auto HP or Auto MP Potion Skill, put the potion in the Deco tab slot, and set the warning threshold in System Options (NiaMeowDB, wiki).

What happens when a pet's time runs out? It turns into a doll. Bring Water of Life to Mar the Fairy in Ellinia to restore it for 30 days (Nexon notice, NiaMeowDB).

Do pets fight or give stats? No. They "deal no damage and take none" (wiki). Hat scrolls add Speed or Jump to your character.

What is the max pet level? Level 30, at 30,000 closeness, per NiaMeowDB's original-game values (unconfirmed in Classic).

YOUR NEXT MOVE

More from MapleStory Classic

Explore services and find the right option for your next goal.

Explore services